Fashion Rewind

I should’ve known that it was only matter of time before the 80’s peaked its bouncy, colourful head into the runways and into our stores. Fashion always repeats but sometimes, in a much better, bolder fashion.

I received a sneak peak of Lyle & Scott’s Summer Season 2013 (SS13) Vintage collection and I’m happy to report that the items are VERY wearable. The fashonistas behind the “Golden Hawk”, have drawn inspiration from the British Youth “Casuals” Culture during the mid 80’s – a time influenced by the energy, style and attitude. I was also, just a toddler so I can barely remember what was hot or not. This now provides me with sort of clean slate and I can go absolutely mad with 80’s fashion.

Lyle & Scott only entered the South African market last year and so far it has not disappointed mostly because of the brand’s reputation for quality and craftsmanship but more so because of the their clothes being fun and preppy that oozes that cool, calm and collected British charm.

Key pieces pay homage to the ‘Casuals’ era and include lightweight colour blocked parkas, bold striped polo’s and flecked jacquard knits.

The New collection is dived into three themes:

3D Knitwear: Their iconic and well-crafted jumpers take on chunky cables and different textures geared for spring in lightweight Pima Cotton.

Classic British Sportswear: The Classic British Sportswear have been a given a new twist. Stripes and colour blocking will yet again dominate summer.

Summer Pastels: Clever ideas for clever shoppers like me; I buy items and colours with a long shelf life and this is why this is my favourite theme from the collection. The pastels are subtle yet vibrant and can be paired with anything. The palette consists of bold primary colours of Windsor Blue, Fern Green, Spectra Yellow and Red which complement more vivid and sun bleached pastel shades of Rosette Pink, Light Blue and Pastel Yellow.

Standout items for me are the polo’s and colour blocked parkas. Have a look.

Image

Image

Image

Image


Leave a comment